Decrease of a geometric progression

It is common to speak of “exponential growth” when the aim is to emphasize the significant speed of change (growth or decline) of some value. If we consider time to be discrete and changing in leaps, then the concept of “exponential growth” is easily described using geometric progressions.

The most famous example, illustrating the speed of growth of a geometric progression, is the legend about the origin of chess. If you put one grain of wheat on the first field of the chess board, two — on the second, four — on the third and so on, then it turns out that filling the last 64-th field of the chess board requires to harvest crops from the entire Earth for more than a thousand years.

You can also get an idea of the speed of growth of a geometric progression just by folding a piece of paper. After the first fold the thickness of the paper would increase twice, after the second — 4 times, and if one could manage to fold the paper 42 times, the thickness of the paper would be greater than the maximal distance from the Earth to the Moon.

Examples demonstrating the decrease of the geometric progression are no less fascinating.

Imagine a sequence of gears connected successively in such a way that each gear is rotating 10 times less frequently than the previous one. If the first gear completed 10 full rotations, the second would complete a single one, the next one — 1/10 of a full rotation etc. Therefore, the angular velocities of the gears form a geometrical progression with common ratio 1/10.

In the movie the first gear turns with a rate of 3 full rotations per second. It turns out that even a few steps of the geometric progression are sufficient for the last gear nearly not to move in any “reasonable” time and it is even possible to completely fix it in a wall.

Let us watch how many rotations will the gears complete after a long time. For example, what will happen 10 years later...

After 10 years of the drill's constant work the first gear will have completed more than 877 million rotations, and the last, 13th, gear will not have budged even one thousandth of a rotation.

What would happen if we applied the drill to one of the intermediate gears? Despite the intuition suggesting that the gears to the right of the driven gear will move very fast, the system will not move at all. It turns out that the friction force emerging on the right side of the driven gear grows in a geometrical progression as well. Rotating such a system while applying force not to the rightmost gear is impossible.

Убывание геометрической прогрессии

Довольно часто, когда хотят под­черк­нуть, что неко­то­рая вели­чина быстро изме­ня­ется (рас­тёт или убы­вает), гово­рят, что она изме­ня­ется в геомет­ри­че­ской прогрес­сии.

Самый знаме­ни­тый при­мер, иллю­стри­рующий ско­рость роста геомет­ри­че­ской прогрес­сии, изве­стен из  легенды о про­ис­хож­де­нии шахмат. Ока­зы­ва­ется, что если положить на одну клетку шахмат­ной доски одно зерно пше­ницы, на вто­рую — два, на тре­тью — 4 и т.д., то для запол­не­ния 64-й клетки пона­до­бится урожай всей Земли более, чем за тысячу лет.

Ско­рость роста геомет­ри­че­ской прогрес­сии можно также почув­ство­вать, скла­ды­вая листок бумаги. После пер­вого скла­ды­ва­ния толщина бумаги уве­ли­чится в 2 раза, после вто­рого — в 4, а если удастся сложить листок 42 раза, то толщина бумаги будет больше мак­сималь­ного рас­сто­я­ния от Земли до Луны.

Не менее впе­чат­ляющим явля­ется при­мер, демон­стри­рующий ско­рость убы­ва­ния геомет­ри­че­ской прогрес­сии.

Зацепим друг за друга несколько  шесте­рё­нок так, чтобы каж­дая сле­дующая враща­лась в 10 раз мед­лен­нее преды­дущей. Т.е. если пер­вая шесте­рёнка совершила 10 обо­ро­тов, вто­рая — один обо­рот, сле­дующая — 1/10 обо­рота и  так далее. Таким обра­зом, угло­вые ско­ро­сти шесте­рё­нок обра­зуют геомет­ри­че­скую прогрес­сию со знаме­на­те­лем 1/10.

В фильме пер­вая шесте­рёнка враща­ется со ско­ро­стью при­мерно 3 обо­рота в секунду. Ока­зы­ва­ется, небольшого числа шагов геомет­ри­че­ской прогрес­сии доста­точно, чтобы послед­няя шесте­рёнка вообще не повер­ну­лась за «разум­ное время» и её действи­тельно можно вмон­ти­ро­вать в стену.

Посмот­рим, сколько обо­ро­тов сде­лают шесте­рёнки через про­должи­тель­ный отре­зок времени. Напри­мер, как будет выгля­деть кар­тина  10 лет спу­стя

Через 10 лет непре­рыв­ного враще­ния дрели, пер­вая шесте­рёнка совершит более  877 мил­ли­о­нов обо­ро­тов, а послед­няя, 13 шесте­рёнка,  всё ещё не повер­нётся даже на одну тысяч­ную обо­рота.

А что будет, если при­ла­дить дрель к какой-нибудь промежу­точ­ной шесте­рёнке? Инту­и­тив­ный ответ, что шесте­рёнки, нахо­дящи­еся пра­вее ведущей, будут вращаться очень быстро, — неве­рен. Дело в том, что сила тре­ния, воз­ни­кающая с пра­вой сто­роны от ведущей шесте­рёнки, также рас­тёт в геомет­ри­че­ской прогрес­сии. Вращать такую систему, при­кла­ды­вая уси­лия не к самой пра­вой шесте­рёнке, — не полу­чится.

Лите­ра­тура

Прак­ти­че­ская бес­ко­неч­ность // Матема­ти­че­ская состав­ляющая / Ред.-сост. Н. Н. Андреев, С. П. Коно­ва­лов, Н. М. Паню­нин. — Вто­рое изда­ние, расши­рен­ное и допол­нен­ное. — М. : Матема­ти­че­ские этюды, 2019. — С. 94—95, 328.

Другие этюды раздела «Геометрия формул»