The sandwich problem

Can you cut by a planar section a sandwich consisting of a slice of bread, a slice of cheese and a slice of ham in such a way that both sides contain the same amounts of bread, cheese and ham? We will show that you can...

Consider first the two-dimensional problem. Suppose we are given any two regions in the plane. Does id exists a straight line that simultaneously bisects the first region and the second one in two parts with exactly the same area?

To demonstrate that it exists, let’s initially consider only one of the regions. We choose an arbitrary direction. Is there a line with this direction that divides the region into two parts of equal area? We show that this line exists any direction is chosen. Take the straight line with the chosen direction far from the region so that the region is completely on the same side with respect to it, for instance on the right side. We will build two graphs, representing the areas of the region that are located on the right and on the left of the line, as functions of the distance of the straight line from its initial position. At first the whole region is on the right of the line, which means that the left element of the histogram is zero whereas the right element represents the entire area of the region. We start to move the line to the right so that it is always parallel to its initial position. During this shift the area of the region located to the right of the line will decrease continuously, while the area to the left will increase continuously. At the end, the whole region will be on the left of the line. The left part of the histogram (in blue) then represents the area of the entire region, and the right one will be zero.

If we look at the graphs representing the areas at left and at right of the line as functions on the distance of the line from its initial position, we will see that they have somewhere a point of intersection, precisely because of their continuity. This point tell us exactly the location of the line that divides the area of the region into two equal parts.

Since the direction of the line was chosen arbitrarily, a line that divides the region into two equal parts exists in any direction.

Let us come back to the case of two regions. We will consider only those straight lines that cut the first region (on the left) into two equal parts, and we start choosing the line that is horizontal and points to the right. It will cut the second region (on the right) in some way. Now we change the direction of the line, remaining inside the set of straight lines that bisect the first region. We construct the graph of the difference of areas of the first region located at the left and at the right of the line, depending on the angle made by the line with the initial one, which is horizontal. Initially this difference is negative. Continuously changing the direction of the line we will return to the starting position, but inverted, so that the areas at left and at right are exchanged. At this moment the value of the difference will be positive. Since the difference changes continuously, its graph, going from a negative to a positive value must meet the line of the zero value. This value corresponds to an angle that determines the line that divides the second region into two parts of equal areas. In this way we have found the straight line which divides both regions into two parts of equal areas.

Here is how the Bolzano-Cauchy theorem is used. Unfortunately, how to draw this line when we are given two regions of arbitrary forms, arbitrarily arranged in the plane, we cannot know without using other ideas and knowledge. But it exists, for any pair of regions! The theorems of this type are called “theorems of existence.”

Let us now return to the three-dimensional case. Instead of two regions in the two-dimensional plane we will consider three arbitrary objects, arbitrarily arranged in the space. Instead of the areas, we will consider the volumes, and instead of a straight line, a plane. It happens that in this case, by an argument similar to that used in the planar case, we can prove a theorem of existence. For any three objects there is a plane that divides simultaneously each of them into two parts of equal volume.

In order life have more flavour, consider a sandwich made of bread, cheese and ham. They are three objects arranged in some way with respect to each other. Try to show that there is a plane that cuts the ham into equal parts and simultaneously cuts the cheese and the bread in equal parts. Using additional arguments, this plane was found for the sandwich shown in the film, and indeed it is evident from the verification that all three objects were divided into two equal parts!

Задача о бутерброде

Можно ли бутер­брод из хлеба, сыра и кол­басы  раз­ре­зать одной плос­ко­стью так, чтобы в обеих частях было оди­на­ко­вое (по объёму) коли­че­ство кол­басы, а также оди­на­ко­вое коли­че­ство сыра и хлеба? Ока­зы­ва­ется, что можно...

Рас­смот­рим сна­чала задачу в двумер­ном слу­чае. На плос­ко­сти есть две про­из­воль­ные обла­сти. Суще­ствует ли прямая,  делящая ровно попо­лам по площади и первую область, и (одно­временно) вто­рую?

Докажем, что суще­ствует. Для этого пора­бо­таем вна­чале с одной из дан­ных обла­стей. Выбе­рем про­из­воль­ное направ­ле­ние. Суще­ствует ли прямая, парал­лель­ная этому направ­ле­нию, кото­рая делит область попо­лам? Покажем, что такая прямая для любого направ­ле­ния все­гда най­дётся. Про­ве­дём прямую выше обла­сти так, чтобы она была пол­но­стью с одной сто­роны. Будем стро­ить графики — площадь обла­сти справа и слева от прямой (она у нас направ­лен­ная, поэтому «право» и «лево» опре­де­лены). Сей­час вся область справа от прямой, и, зна­чит, один стол­бец соот­вет­ствует пол­ной площади кляксы, а вто­рой стол­бец — нуле­вой. Нач­нём двигать прямую вправо так, чтобы она все­гда была парал­лельна выбран­ному направ­ле­нию. По мере про­хож­де­ния обла­сти площадь справа будет  непре­рывно уменьшатся, а площадь слева от прямой — непре­рывно уве­ли­чи­ваться. В какой-то момент вся область оста­нется слева. Синий стол­бец будет соот­вет­ство­вать пол­ной площади обла­сти, а корич­не­вый будет нуле­вым.

Посмот­рим на полу­чен­ные графики площа­дей справа и слева от прямой. Так как они непре­рывны, то где-то суще­ствует  точка пере­се­че­ния. Она и соот­вет­ствует искомой прямой — делящей площадь обла­сти попо­лам и парал­лель­ной изна­чально выбран­ному направ­ле­нию.

Так как направ­ле­ние выби­ра­лось про­из­воль­ное, то, зна­чит, прямая, делящая одну область попо­лам, суще­ствует в любом направ­ле­нии.

Вер­нёмся к двум обла­стям. Будем рас­смат­ри­вать только те прямые, кото­рые делят левую область попо­лам. Рас­смот­рим такую прямую, кото­рая гори­зон­тальна и направ­лена вправо. Она как-то поде­лит пра­вую область. Будем смот­реть за графи­ком раз­ницы площа­дей пра­вой обла­сти — площадь пра­вее прямой минус площадь левее прямой. Сей­час эта раз­ность  отрица­тельна. Про­бежимся по направ­ле­ниям от нуля до пол­ного угла. В этом конеч­ном положе­нии геомет­ри­че­ски прямая совпа­дает с изна­чаль­ной, а вот «право»—«лево» поме­ня­лись местами. И теперь зна­че­ние рас­смат­ри­ва­емой раз­но­сти  положи­тельно. Так как раз­ность меня­лась непре­рывно, то, зна­чит, её график где-то  пере­сёк нуле­вое зна­че­ние. И этому зна­че­нию соот­вет­ствует прямая, делящая пра­вую область ровно попо­лам. Так как мы рас­смат­ри­вали только те прямые, кото­рые делят попо­лам левую область, то, зна­чит, мы нашли искомую прямую. Она делит и левую, и пра­вую обла­сти  одно­временно попо­лам по площади.

Вот так исполь­зу­ется тео­рема Больца­но—­Коши. К сожа­ле­нию, она некон­струк­тивна. И как про­хо­дит эта прямая в зави­симо­сти от рас­смат­ри­ва­емых обла­стей, без при­вле­че­ния каких-то допол­ни­тель­ных идей, ска­зать нельзя. Но для любых обла­стей дока­зано, что она суще­ствует! По типу такие тео­ремы ещё назы­вают тео­ремами суще­ство­ва­ния.

Перей­дём к рас­смот­ре­нию трёхмер­ного слу­чая. Вме­сто двух обла­стей на двумер­ной плос­ко­сти в трёхмер­ном про­стран­стве рас­смот­рим три про­из­воль­ных тела, про­из­вольно рас­по­ложен­ных друг отно­си­тельно друга. Вме­сто площа­дей — объёмы. Ока­зы­ва­ется, и в этом слу­чае похожим рас­суж­де­нием, что мы исполь­зо­вали для плос­ко­сти, можно дока­зать подоб­ную тео­рему суще­ство­ва­ния. Для любых трёх тел суще­ствует плос­кость, кото­рая каж­дое из тел делит по объёму ровно попо­лам.

Чтобы жизнь была вкус­нее, рас­смот­рим бутер­брод из хлеба, сыра и кол­басы. Три тела, как-то рас­по­ложен­ных друг отно­си­тельно друга. Попро­буйте дока­зать, что  суще­ствует плос­кость, делящая и кол­басу ровно попо­лам, и одно­временно сыр и хлеб тоже ровно попо­лам. С при­вле­че­нием допол­ни­тель­ных рас­суж­де­ний, для бутер­брода, пред­став­лен­ного в фильме, такая плос­кость была най­дена и, действи­тельно, после про­верки видно, что все три тела поде­лены ровно попо­лам!

Другие этюды раздела «Непрерывность»