Share…

The train wheels

Many boys wanted to go into the train driver cab. In fact, going in a straight tunnel, which is simply a cylinder, it is not so exciting. But something different are the bends.

But in which manner the train wagons corner on the rails? In fact, the right and left wheels are rigidly attached together. Moreover, in a curve the radius of curvature of the outer rail is greater than the radius of the inner one, so the length of the arc of a circle which is covered by the outside wheel is greater than the length of the arc covered by the wheel inside. And it is necessary that none of the two wheels skid on the rail.

Consider a simplified model which nevertheless explains well what essentially happens. The wheels in this model are two identical truncated cones and are rigidly fixed to the axis. The profile of the rail surface is an arc of a circle. If the rails were embedded vertically, they would suffer an extra boost, since the load of the wheel affects on the rail perpendicularly to its surface. Therefore, the rails are embedded a little inclined inwards, so that the axis of their profile is perpendicular to the surface of the conical wheels.

Let us follow a pair of wheels while passing on a bend. It happens that they shift with respect to the track!

Observe how a curve is made. After a straight stretch begins a curved one with a variable radius of curvature, then there is a piece with constant radius, i.e., an arc of a circle. To ensure that passengers do not suffer jolts from the sides of the wagon while passing between two different stretches, a strong condition must be satisfied: the second derivative of the trajectory must be continuous at the points of transition between two consecutive stretches.

The tangency between the conic wheels and the rail surface is made by points. Moving on a bend, the point of tangency moves on the cone. Let us draw the circles made by all points of tangency. When the axis is located exactly in the middle, i.e., when the wagon is moving in a straight stretch of track, these circles on the two wheels attached to the same axis are equal. But when the axis is shifted, in a curved stretch, the circle on the inner wheel is smaller than the circle on the outer wheel. So we can consider that the wheels have variable radii. And since the radius of the inner wheel is smaller than the radius of the outer wheel, when the wheels are moving on the rails without skidding, the inner wheel makes a shorter ride than the outer wheel.

But why in a bend the pair of wheels is shifted over the rails? It turns out that physics is not involved. It’s just geometry, and also a very beautiful geometry! When the tracks bend, they cause a shift of the pair of wheels exactly as much as necessary so that the inner and the outer wheels roll without skidding.

A good model must take into account the most important properties of the objects under consideration and to neglect the details. Such is the model we have considered, but in reality everything is more complex. According to the railway company, the surface of the wheel is composed of two truncated cones with slightly different openings angles. There is moreover a ledge, i.e., the wheel has an edge that prevents it from leaving the rails. The profile of the projection is made of different arcs of circles. The profile of the rail, which in the model consisted of a circular arc, is in fact formed by the union of five different arcs of circles.

How to deal with a bend by a pair of wheels of the train is substantially different from how to deal by the wheels of a car, but in reality, in either case plays a role that wonderful science which is the geometry.

Some curiosity:

A pair of train wheels holds about a ton. As for driving wheels, then a more engine is fixed to the axis, which makes reaching the load of a ton and a half. The wheel diameter is about one meter.

In Russia, for strategic reasons the distances between the rails of the train and of the subway lines are the same. The track gauge, i.e., the distance between the inner edges of the rails is 1520 millimeters.

A bend is considered to be sharp if its curvature radius is less than 350 meters.. In such curves the gauge can exceed a bit the standard width, but at most by 3 cm.

The total length of railways in Russia is about 87 thousand kilometres. The length of subway lines in Moscow (in 2011) is about 300 km

Some points of each wheel moves in the opposite direction with respect to the train. Can you tell which?

See also in section ”Other interesting subjects”15

 

Other projects by Mathematical Etudes

Support

Колёсная пара

Многие меч­тали про­ка­титься в кабине маши­ни­ста поезда метро. На самом деле, ехать по прямой в тун­неле, кото­рый есть про­сто прямо­ли­ней­ный цилиндр, не так увле­ка­тельно. Раз­но­об­ра­зие вно­сят пово­роты.

А как пово­ра­чи­вают вагоны метро? Ведь пра­вое и левое колеса жёстко скреп­лены друг с другом. Между тем, в пово­роте радиус внеш­него рельса больше ради­уса внут­рен­него, а зна­чит, и длина дуги окруж­но­сти, кото­рую должно про­хо­дить внеш­нее колесо, должна быть больше пути внут­рен­него колеса. При этом необ­хо­димо, чтобы ни одно из колёс не про­скаль­зы­вало отно­си­тельно рельса.

Рас­смот­рим упрощён­ную модель, кото­рая всё же хорошо пере­даёт суть про­ис­хо­дящего. Колёса в этой модели — два оди­на­ко­вых усе­чён­ных конуса, жёстко соеди­нён­ных осью. Профиль рабо­чей поверх­но­сти рельса — дуга окруж­но­сти. Если бы рельсы укла­ды­ва­лись вер­ти­кально, то испыты­вали бы лиш­ние нагрузки — колесо давит на рельс перпен­ди­ку­лярно своей поверх­но­сти. Поэтому, фик­си­руя рельсы в шпале, их немного накло­няют внутрь, чтобы ось была перпен­ди­ку­лярна поверх­но­сти колеса-конуса.

Про­сле­дим за тем, как колёс­ная пара про­хо­дит пово­роты. Ока­зы­ва­ется, она смеща­ется отно­си­тельно рельс!

Раз­бе­рёмся, как устроен сам пово­рот. После прямого отрезка пути идёт вход в пово­рот — уча­сток с перемен­ным ради­у­сом, потом идёт основ­ной уча­сток — посто­ян­ного ради­уса, т. е. дуга окруж­но­сти. Для того, чтобы пас­сажи­ров не кидало из сто­роны в сто­рону при пере­ходе с одного участка на дру­гой, должно выпол­няться очень силь­ное усло­вие — непре­рыв­ность вто­рой про­из­вод­ной тра­ек­то­рии пути при пере­ходе между участ­ками.

Каса­ние колеса-конуса и рабо­чей поверх­но­сти рельса про­ис­хо­дит по точке. При пово­роте точка каса­ния смеща­ется отно­си­тельно конуса. Про­ве­дём через точки каса­ния окруж­но­сти. При цен­три­ро­ван­ном положе­нии колёс­ной пары эти окруж­но­сти для внут­рен­него и внеш­него колеса оди­на­ковы. А при смещён­ном — окруж­ность для внут­рен­него колеса меньше, чем внеш­него. Таким обра­зом, можно счи­тать, что колёса имеют перемен­ный радиус. И раз радиус внут­рен­него колеса меньше ради­уса внеш­него, то, когда колёса едут по рель­сам без про­скаль­зы­ва­ния, внут­рен­нее колесо про­хо­дит меньший путь, чем внеш­нее.

Почему же колёс­ная пара смеща­ется отно­си­тельно рельс в пово­роте? Ока­зы­ва­ется, ника­кой физики. Только геомет­рия, при этом очень кра­си­вая! Когда рельсы пово­ра­чи­вают, они сами вызы­вают смеще­ние колёс­ной пары ровно настолько, насколько нужно — так, чтобы внеш­нее и внут­рен­нее колёса кати­лись без про­скаль­зы­ва­ния.

Хорошая модель должна учи­ты­вать самые важ­ные свойства изу­ча­емых объек­тов, а несуще­ствен­ные детали — опус­кать. Такова и рас­смот­рен­ная модель, но в жизни всё слож­нее. По ГОСТу рабо­чая поверх­ность колеса состоит из двух кону­сов немного раз­ного суже­ния. Есть ещё реборда — выступ, препят­ствующий соска­ки­ва­нию колеса с рельса, гра­ница кото­рого состоит из нескольких дуг окруж­но­стей. Рабо­чая поверх­ность рельса, кото­рая в рас­смот­рен­ной модели была дугой окруж­но­сти, на самом деле — симмет­рич­ная склейка пяти дуг окруж­но­стей.

Пово­рот колёс­ной пары состава суще­ственно отли­ча­ется от того, как  пово­ра­чи­вают колёса автомо­биля, однако и в том, и в другом слу­чае осо­бую роль играет такая кра­си­вая наука — геомет­рия.

Допол­ни­тель­ная информация:

  • Колёс­ная пара имеет массу около тонны. Если же колёс­ная пара ведущая, то на ней есть ещё непо­движ­ная отно­си­тельно оси шестерня, так что общая масса достигает почти полу­тора тонн. Диаметр колеса — при­мерно метр.
  • По стра­теги­че­ским сооб­раже­ниям в СССР стан­дарт рельс и колёс­ных пар ваго­нов метро выбран такой же, как и для желез­но­до­рож­ных соста­вов. Ширина колеи — рас­сто­я­ние между внут­рен­ними гра­нями голо­вок рель­сов — в Рос­сии состав­ляет 1520 мм.
  • Кру­тым счи­та­ется пово­рот с ради­у­сом менее 350 мет­ров. В таких пово­ро­тах ширина колеи может быть чуть шире стан­дарт­ной, но не более чем на 3 см.
  • Про­тяжён­ность желез­ных дорог в Рос­сии — при­мерно 87 тысяч километ­ров. Про­тяжён­ность линий метро в Москве в 2011 году — при­мерно 300 километ­ров.
  • Неко­то­рые точки насто­ящего колеса едут в обрат­ную сто­рону отно­си­тельно хода движе­ния поезда. Подумайте, какие.

Смотри также

Кри­вая пово­рота // Матема­ти­че­ская состав­ляющая / Ред.-сост. Н. Н. Андреев, С. П. Коно­ва­лов, Н. М. Паню­нин. — Вто­рое изда­ние, расши­рен­ное и допол­нен­ное. — М. : Матема­ти­че­ские этюды, 2019. — С. 52.

Колёс­ные пары желез­но­до­рож­ных соста­вов // Матема­ти­че­ская состав­ляющая / Ред.-сост. Н. Н. Андреев, С. П. Коно­ва­лов, Н. М. Паню­нин. — Вто­рое изда­ние, расши­рен­ное и допол­нен­ное. — М. : Матема­ти­че­ские этюды, 2019. — С. 53.

Другие этюды раздела «Математика и техника»