Amazing volumes of polyhedra

Is it possible to construct both not a convex and a convex polyhedra from the same set of faces? You'd definitely say Yes. One of the examples is presented in the picture.

A polyhedron is called convex if it is placed in a single semi-space with respect to any plane containing one of it's faces.
A polyhedron is not convex if there exists a plane containing one of it's faces that cuts it into two pieces.

Let's assume that we managed to construct a convex and a non-convex polyhedra from the same set of faces. Which of them has the greater volume?

It turns out that we can choose faces, so that the volume of the non-convex polyhedron will be greater that the volume of the convex one having the same faces. In this film we tell about the best example known so far.

Consider two triangles (the accurate length of their edges will be given in the end of the film) that will be faces of our polyhedra. They will be the faces of both polyhedra. The one shown on the left is convex, the one shown on the right is not.

Both constructed polyhedra are octahedra (though, not regular) i.e. they have 6 vertices and 8 faces.

What is an informal meaning of volume, in particular of a polyhedron? It's the amount of liquid that one can pour into it. Let’s cut off the vertices and start to already filled whereas the nonconvex one — not yet. But maybe the speed of water was different: to measure the amount of water properly, let's pour out the water from each polyhedron to identical is higher than in the left one. This means that the volume of the nonconvex polyhedron is really greater than the volume of the convex one.

If you calculate precisely you will get that the ratio of the volume of nonconvex polyhedron to that of the convex is 1,163.

In our problem it's more correct to consider the ratio of volumes than it's difference as it doesn't depend on the size of initial triangles used to construct polyhedra.

The volume of the constructed non-convex polyhedron is more then 16% greater than those of the convex one. You can make this polyhedra yourself using faces with the given edges. If you place the centers of octahedra in the origin, their vertices will have the same [coordinates] coordinates as in the film.

We considered here an example constructed by S.N. Mikhalev while he was a Ph.D. student in MSU. It's the best known example so far (it has the greatest ratio of polyhedra volumes).

However, it is still non known how big can the ratio of volumes of such two polyhedra be (of a non-convex and a convex one constructed from the same set of faces). And this problem is waiting for it's researcher!

Удивительные объёмы многогранников

Можно ли из оди­на­ко­вых гра­ней сложить выпук­лый и невыпук­лый многогран­ники? Конечно, можно, скажете вы. Один из при­ме­ров при­ве­дён на  этом рисунке.

Многогран­ник назы­ва­ется выпук­лым, если он лежит по одну сто­рону от плос­ко­сти, содержащей любую из его гра­ней.

Многогран­ник назы­ва­ется невыпук­лым, если у него суще­ствует такая грань, что многогран­ник ока­зы­ва­ется по обе сто­роны от плос­ко­сти, содержащей эту грань.

Пусть из оди­на­ко­вых набо­ров гра­ней уда­лось сложить выпук­лый и невыпук­лый многогран­ник. У кото­рого из них объём будет больше?

Ока­зы­ва­ется можно так подо­брать грани, что объём невыпук­лого многогран­ника будет больше объёма выпук­лого, состав­лен­ного из тех же гра­ней. В фильме рас­ска­зы­ва­ется о наи­лучшем извест­ном таком при­мере.

Рас­смот­рим два тре­уголь­ника (точ­ные длины сто­рон будут ука­заны в конце фильма), кото­рые и будут гра­нями будущих многогран­ни­ков. Как мы видим, каж­дый тре­уголь­ник одно­временно ста­но­вится гра­нью и в одном, и в другом многогран­нике. Тот многогран­ник, кото­рый стро­ится слева, будет выпук­лым, тот, что справа — невыпук­лым.

Оба  постро­ен­ных многогран­ника — октаэдры (хотя и не пра­виль­ные), т.е. имеют по шесть вершин и восемь гра­ней.

Что такое в житейском смысле объём тела, в част­но­сти многогран­ника? Это то, сколько жид­ко­сти может быть налито внутрь этого многогран­ника. Отрежем вершинки и  нальём внутрь каж­дого многогран­ника воду. Выпук­лый многогран­ник уже напол­нился, а невыпук­лый —  ещё нет. Но, возможно, вода нали­ва­лась с раз­ной ско­ро­стью: чтобы пра­вильно срав­нить объёмы, выльем жид­кость из каж­дого многогран­ника в оди­на­ко­вые  ста­каны. Уро­вень воды в пра­вом ста­кане  выше, чем в левом, зна­чит, объём невыпук­лого многогран­ника действи­тельно больше объёма выпук­лого.

Если посчи­тать акку­ратно, то можно вычис­лить, что  отноше­ние объёма невыпук­лого многогран­ника к объёму выпук­лого равно 1,163.

В нашей задаче действи­тельно пра­виль­нее рас­смат­ри­вать отноше­ние объёмов, а не их раз­ницу, так как отноше­ние не зави­сит от разме­ров изна­чаль­ных тре­уголь­ни­ков, исполь­зо­ван­ных в каче­стве гра­ней для постро­е­ния многогран­ни­ков.

В рас­смот­рен­ном при­мере объём постро­ен­ного невыпук­лого многогран­ника более чем на 16% больше объёма выпук­лого. Дан­ные многогран­ники вы можете реа­ли­зо­вать сами, исполь­зуя грани с  ука­зан­ными сто­ро­нами. При этом, если цен­тры октаэд­ров рас­по­ложить в начале коор­ди­нат, то, с точ­но­стью до пово­рота,  коор­ди­наты вершин будут такие, как при­ве­дены в фильме.

В фильме рас­смот­рен при­мер постро­е­ния двух многогран­ни­ков, пред­ложен­ный С. Н. Миха­лё­вым в 2002 году, в то время аспи­ран­том меха­нико-матема­ти­че­ского факуль­тета МГУ. Это лучший из извест­ных при­ме­ров (с мак­сималь­ным извест­ным отноше­нием объёмов многогран­ни­ков).

Однако до сих пор неиз­вестно, насколько большим может быть отноше­ние объёма невыпук­лого многогран­ника к объёму выпук­лого, состав­лен­ного из тех же гра­ней. Этот вопрос ещё ждёт сво­его иссле­до­ва­теля!

Лите­ра­тура

Миха­лёв С. Н. Изо­мет­ри­че­ские реа­ли­за­ции октаэд­ров Бри­кара 1-го и 2-го типов с извест­ными зна­че­ни­ями объёма // Фун­дамен­таль­ная и при­клад­ная матема­тика. — 2002. — Т. 8, № 3. — С. 755—768.

Другие этюды раздела «Внешняя геометрия многогранников»