A saddle surface of a hyperbolic paraboloid

Video
Download
AVI video (768×576, 41.4 MB)
MP4 video (768×576, 11.4 MB)
В zip-архиве (AVI, 15.4 MB)

00:00|00:00

Pictures

A hyperbolic paraboloid is a surface, which looks like a saddle. It is formed during such a movement of a parabola open down that its top glides on the other static parabola open up. Planes containing parabolas are perpendicular at every moment, while the axes are parallel.

When a hyperbolic paraboloid crosses any horizontal plane, a hyperbola is formed. If a plane passes through the centre of a saddle, a hyperbola degenerates into a pair of intersecting straight lines (if we project a hyperbola from a parallel section on this plane, the straight lines will be an asymptote of a hyperbola-projection).

It turns out that a hyperbolic paraboloid is a ruled surface, which can be also formed by movement of a straight line!

Let’s draw a set of segments between two parallel lines at equal distances. Then let’s rotate straight lines around the central segment in opposite directions (lengths of all segments, except the central, will change). So the segments positioned in space this way all lie on a hyperbolic paraboloid.

This surface can be beautifully realized as a model made of thin tubes.

The Gaussian curvature is negative at every point of a hyperbolic paraboloid. These surfaces are also called saddle, as they are visually similar to saddles for horse-riding.

Седловидная поверхность: гиперболический параболоид

Гипер­бо­ли­че­ский пара­бо­лоид — поверх­ность, напоми­нающая седло. Она обра­зу­ется при таком движе­нии пара­болы с вет­вями вниз, что её вершина сколь­зит по дру­гой, непо­движ­ной пара­боле с вет­вями вверх. Плос­ко­сти пара­бол в каж­дый момент времени перпен­ди­ку­лярны, оси парал­лельны.

При пере­се­че­нии гипер­бо­ли­че­ского пара­бо­ло­ида с любой гори­зон­таль­ной плос­ко­стью полу­ча­ется гипер­бола. Если плос­кость про­хо­дит через центр седла, то гипер­бола вырож­да­ется в пару пере­се­кающихся прямых. (Если на эту плос­кость спро­еци­ро­вать гипер­болу из парал­лель­ного сече­ния, то прямые будут асимп­то­тами гипер­бо­лы‐про­екции.)

Ока­зы­ва­ется, гипер­бо­ли­че­ский пара­бо­лоид — линей­ча­тая поверх­ность, она также может быть обра­зо­вана движе­нием прямой линии!

Между двумя парал­лель­ными прямыми через рав­ные рас­сто­я­ния пустим набор отрез­ков. Повер­нём прямые вокруг цен­траль­ного отрезка в раз­ные сто­роны. (При этом длины всех отрез­ков, кроме цен­траль­ного, изме­нятся.) Так рас­по­ложен­ные в про­стран­стве отрезки лежат на гипер­бо­ли­че­ском пара­бо­ло­иде.

Эта поверх­ность допус­кает кра­си­вую реа­ли­за­цию в виде модели из тру­бо­чек.

Гаус­сова кри­визна во всех точ­ках гипер­бо­ли­че­ского пара­бо­ло­ида отрица­тельна. Такие поверх­но­сти назы­вают сед­ло­выми из-за визу­аль­ного сход­ства с сед­лом для вер­хо­вой езды.

Другие модели раздела «Конические сечения»